A Night of Success!

After nearly 3 years, our Blues and Volunteers Awards annual event made a comeback to celebrate the success, commitment and ard work of our student athletes, coaches and volunteers who have inspired us over the past 12 months.

We started the evening with reflecting on the year and its achievements in the video below –

Volunteer Awards

The Heriot-Watt Sports Union Volunteer Awards celebrate the contribution of students to their Club and/or the Sports Union.  The awards reflect the number of hours and the high quality of the work that each volunteer performs.  In total, our volunteers have given over 21,000 hours of their own time this year alone across the Bronze, Silver, Gold, Gold Plus and Platinum criteras.

You can find all of our volunteer award winners HERE.

The Len Burnett Trophy is presented to a platinum winner that has shown the most significant contribution to their club and/or the SU during their time at University.

Len Burnett Trophy Winner – Calum Shepard (Snowsports).


Blues are awarded to students who have achieved a consistent and exceptional performance throughout the season normally culminating in SSS/BUCS representation (if applicable).

There were 18 Blues awarded and these winners with their exceptional achievements can be found HERE.

The Neil Campbell Trophy is presented to the blues winner that has excelled in their sport over the past year. The nominees were:

Howard Ball (Athletics)

Luke Crosbie (Rugby)

Alex Short (Judo)

Neil Campbell Trophy Winner – Luke Crosbie (Rugby).

Special Sporting Achievements

To finish this years clubs awards that began at the Sports Ball. For the first time, the Joy Wilson Trophy and Steve Chapman Trophy were awarded at the Blues event.

The nominees of the Joy Wilson Trophy for Fresher Performance of the Year were:

Fraser Holman (Athletics)

Ellen Courts (Netball)

Dominic Perry (Table Tennis)

The Joy Wilson Trophy Winner – Fraser Holman (Athletics).

The nominees of the Steve Chapman Trophy for the Team of the Year were:

Fencing Men’s 1st Team

Rugby Women’s 1st Team

Squash Men’s 1st Team

The Steve Chapman Trophy Winner – Rugby Women’s 1st Team.

Honorary Blues

We had the pleasure of awarded 3 honorary blues at this years event, this was for each of the individuals service to the Sports Union. These individuals are shown below:

Graeme Cunningham (Boat)

Graeme joined the Boat Club back in 2002 as a student newcomer to the sport and has been part of a period of a remarkable period of growth and improvement within the club. From there Graeme become coach of the Boat Club and seen him rack up a number of person honours, including Scottish Rowing Volunteer of the Year in 2008 and becoming Scottish Rowing Team Member.

Graeme has played a significant role in the Heart of Scotland Club, which seeks to improve links between the club and its alumni and organises annual events.  

William McKay (Archery)

Bill retires from his position this year but his impact at the club will continue to be felt for many years to come. He has been shown remarkable dedication and is a stalwart of the Archery Club with his involvement as a coach spanning nearly 30 years. Bill has consistently provided a friendly and jovial atmosphere within the club, which has allowed generations of student archers to be able to flourish and improve their skills.

The Archery Club have enjoyed significant successes in recent years, including winning the Novices Cup, top 3 finishes in the experienced archers competition and numerous SSS National finalists.  

Martin Livingston (Aikdio)

Martin first took up Aikido in 1990 and took his first HWU Aikido class at Heriot-Watt in 1999. Martin is the long-standing and well-respected coach of the Aikido Club. The club have enjoyed much success during this period, including winning the UK university championships in 2004, 2018 and 2019. The Aikido Club have produce over 20 black belts, with many of whom now teaching at their own clubs.

Martin himself was world champion for six years, with the 2007 victory being particularly notable with the fact that it was with a kata partner, whom had started at Heriot Watt University, and trained through to a black belt. Martin is due to take his 5th Dan in Japan next year.

Guest of Honour – Professor John Sawkins

We were delighted that Professor Sawkins joined us at the event as an ardent supporter of the Sports Union as he leaves his role as Deputy Principal this year after serving 2 five-year terms. Bring one of the SU’s biggest cheerleaders, John has supported academic flexibility around sport for our student athletes so more students can either train or compete in sport they love. He has helped push the SU into key governance groups within the University and has given us a platform to share everything that’s going on in the WattFamily!

As a parting gift, John given the SU a trophy to be presented to any member/group of the SU that has went above and beyond outwith their club/sport and/or studies and shown inspiring leadership. This trophy was then named the Deputy Principal Leadership Trophy.

Deputy Principal Leadership Trophy Winners – Equestrian Club for their work with Riding for Disabled.