A Night of Celebration!

Our Blues & Volunteer Awards evening returned to the James Watt Centre this year with 80 students and staff in attendance to celebrate the hard work and achievements of our students.

We started the evening watching a video, reflecting on some of the action for this past year.

Volunteer Awards

The Heriot-Watt Sports Union Volunteer Awards celebrate the vast contribution that our students make to our community. This year our 300 volunteers gave over 18,000 hours of time to their clubs and the sports union. Our award recognise students who reach milestones of 50, 100, 250, 350 and 500 hours across their years at Heriot-Watt.

You can find all of our volunteer award winners HERE.

Len Burnett Trophy

The Len Burnett Trophy is presented to a platinum winner that has shown the most significant contribution to their club and/or the SU during their time at University. This year we had 10 students receiving platinum awards for volunteering over 500 hours during their time at Heriot-Watt. These students were: Bruce McCaig, Chloe Alexander, Emily McMullan, Emma Pedrana, Hope Reilly, Isaac Fillingham, Piers Gritten, Sarah McCormack, Jade Vincent Borde & Luize Luse.

Len Burnett Trophy Winner – Isaac Fillingham (Swimming Club & Sports Ambassador)

Len Burnett Trophy Winner Isaac Fillingham presented by Mike Fitchett

Deputy Principals Leadership Award

Our leadership award is presented to an individual, group, committee or club who have shown exceptional leadership this past year. This year there have been some fantastic example of students showing immense leadership.

Deputy Principals Leadership AwardRugby Men’s Coaching Team (Calum MacPherson, Will Stewart, Lochlan Morris, Hamish Bottomley and Jamie Stephen)


Blues are awarded to students who have achieved a consistent and exceptional performance throughout the season normally culminating in SSS/BUCS representation (if applicable).

There were 15 Blues awarded and these winners with their exceptional achievements can be found HERE.

The Neil Campbell Trophy is presented to the blues winner that has excelled in their sport over the past year. The nominees were:

Beth Logan (Netball)

Luke Crosbie (Rugby)

Margery Justice (Hockey)

Neil Campbell Trophy Winner – Luke Crosbie (Rugby).

Special Sporting Achievements

To finish this years clubs awards that began at the Sports Ball. For the first time, the Joy Wilson Trophy and Steve Chapman Trophy were awarded at the Blues event.

The nominees of the Joy Wilson Trophy for Fresher Performance of the Year were:

Beth Logan (Netball)

Glenn McIntosh (Squash & Boat)

Hannah Davie (Football)

The Joy Wilson Trophy Winner – Beth Logan (Netball).

The nominees of the Steve Chapman Trophy for the Team of the Year were:

Football Men’s 1st Team

Aikido Club

Squash Men’s 1st Team

The Steve Chapman Trophy Winner – Football Men’s 1st Team